Pancake Time Machine – Part 3 Australia

I am finally coming back to my (moderately ambitious) mini series with posts about pancakes. The post was ready for a while, but the floods in Queensland, Cyclone Yasi and last but not least a certain lack of focus and organisation caused this delay, well never mind.

World2What better day than to post about pancakes on World Nutella Day ?

Yes, indeed. As already announced on my sidebar for a while, today is the day we celebrate the big brown jar of plenty!

(Thanks for the reminder, too, through a post on wordpress’ Freshly Pressed)

After my childhood in Germany, with my mother’s pancakes right out of a cement mixer (or so it seemed, but they were still yummy) and after studying crepe-making for many years in France, what kind of pancakes do I make now, for my own family, here in Australia..?

Well, today, my pancakes are based on a very simple recipe, with basic ingredients,  easy to remember, easy to make,  it’s really a bit like
pancakes for dummies :
2 cups of milk, 2 eggs,
2 cups of self-raising flour,
brown sugar – probably half a cup
, maybe more.
I use butter to grease the pan, and may add cream if I have any. Yeah, now I believe that if you count calories when you are preparing a treat, you might as well let it be. (Obviously, that’s why they are ‘Sometimes Food’ only !)
I always add some ‘All Spice’ or Cinnamon and/or vanilla essence.
I like ’em small, thick and rich !000pancakes :

 

 

 

 

 

 

These pancakes can go in the toaster the next morning (or for a snack at night..) with no risk to slip away and cause a fuse to blow (there has been some research into this..). I mostly just sprinkle powder sugar on top since there is already spices inside, but obviously, if you’re into acorn syrup, knock yourself out (but invest in the real, pure syrups).

Now to close the loop, my pancakes also taste awesome with Nutella.
I make a point of NOT always having a jar at home…
because otherwise I’d pretty much just do what this squirrel does :Nutella-squirrel

So, have some pancakes soon and Happy Nutella Day to all of you !  In love

Banana and Nutella Sandwich 500 tumblr_lakt1dWuaE1qcf27qo1_500

PS : And for the LOLZ, here a link to an article about a US mum who is sueing the makers of Nutella, because it is not – shock, terror – actually as ‘healthy and nutritious’ as the advertising led her to believe. Oh dear !

The Pancake Time Machine :
Part 1 – Eierkuchen : my childhood’s pancakes in Germany
Part 2 – Young and chic with crepes in France

Leave a Reply

