Suburp’s Sunday Seven–2nd edition

logo2

I quite enjoyed this last week, so I decided to give it another go. Not so easy with 3 very attention-seeking boys in the house (my son, my husband, the dogthing – the lady dog and the fish are much more self-sufficient I must say).  But I got through the list. So here are the seven things of the week :

The PHOTOimage
This photo captures so many things for me.

My boy with his school hat.
So ‘grown up’ now.
So Aussie.
So beautiful too.

(With pizza in the park Smile)

 

The THOUGHT
For Queensland, after the Floods came Cyclone Yasi and while it seems that surprisingly few people have lost their lives, many have still lost so much! I think it can’t be said enough that while some of the things we gather in our houses during a lifetime are replaceable and futile clutter, many have lost everyday items, furniture and electronics of immense value. But the truly irreplaceable things are the objects we are holding on to because they come from a dear (maybe disappeared) person or remind us of times that were very precious to us. It’s incredibly hard to part with a few bags and since I have been there, sort of, and you NEVER know what happens, I really thought this is yet another excellent reason to continue to declutter my home.
Just in case one day we will have to grab a few things and run.

The WORDevil
In the context of some incidents on and offline, the word ‘evil’ either appeared or popped up in my mind. I have been called evil in the past and felt it was one of the most insulting, yet vague accusations of all.
But what does it really mean? What is the origin of the word and is it appropriate that we still use it today ? Are we using it right ? I looked up the usual definitions via dictionaries and thought about when and why I am using this word.  One site listed no less than 44 articles with people’s definitions of what is evil. Different religions have different approaches to the understanding of the existence of evil in the world, in the human society. Then I found a paragraph in Wikipedia about how useful the term evil is extremely interesting. Read here. 

The LINKfood for victory 1942
Things Your Grandmother Knew
and you wish you did too.” A blog.

More than living simply, more than living ‘green’, thrifty grandmas knew the importance of the ‘economics’ in Home Economics.
 
I have seen similar blogs before (also in different languages). They are often a mix of interesting trivia and useful tips with sometimes hilarious illustrations and sidenotes.  While our grandmas might not all be on the internet, some of their knowledge has fortunately made it there. Worth checking out.

The PROJECT(s)
Always to many projects, oh my! My project – since the beginning of the year ! – is to actually keep track of projects a little bit better. It’s.. in process. Obviously, you can write down every thought and idea that flashes through your brain, but I have taken to actually use one (and only ONE) of the many journals and notebooks I have to write down things that seem noteworthy, am finally using Evernote on my phone and pc and I think I see a bit more clearer as to what really needs to be done. (Or would be fun and interesting to do..! ) Update on last week’s project : fail.

The SONG

ninaThis song, written originally in the 1930s and recorded by Nina Simone in 1958 for her debut album, became a big hit after it was featured in a Channel No.5 commercial. People of my generation ( x ) will remember the odd Aardman Animations (Wallace&Gromit, Chicken Run..) Play-Doo video. It made me discover, at an early age, a great jazz/blues artist who was also a civil rights activists. There are plans to make a movie about her life, with Mary J.Bligh in the title role. Can’t wait!

The IDEA30122009274
I found an awesome European website, that makes quality surface stickers to customize Ikea furniture with great designs. “Say NO to naked furniture” they say.  Artists can also submit their own designs. Now if they even do shipping to Oz, it might be a bit expensive, but it gave me the idea to do something creative with the screaming yellow monster buffet in our family room bought 1/3 of the price! in their bargains section – love it!!).  A suivre!

2 thoughts on “Suburp’s Sunday Seven–2nd edition

  1. amandab75

    Love the song, and it is a favourite of Princess too (she has seen and asked for it many times onyoutube, as well as the Aardman clip for “Reet Petit”) , cute photo, and off to check out the website and the stickers now 🙂

    Oh, and I bought something like 100 exercise books this year (5 for 5c, couldn’t go passed them!) and I am using one to keep track of my projects too. I’m using about 10 of them for different things at the moment, hoping it can get me back on track and more organized 🙂

    Reply
  2. kaykay

    yeah 🙂 i remember the ‘Reet Petite’ one also, but for the Nina Simone song the playdoo stuff always seemed a bit inappropriate..
    i know exactly which exercise books you bought (k?), I only got 2 packs tho, because Tornado still has a few and I like them a bit thicker, unlined – and prettier too, lol. but it all would not matter if only I could stick with actually using them consistently! well, trying..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

