probably a milestone in autism (self) acceptance here

piratebrainZ

Ol’ pirate brain is taking over..

I picked up Nemo the other day from school after “a good day” (according to him and the teacher). After some wild play with others in the bushland close to where we park the cars, we chatted in the car. VERY good day indeed.

We were already home in the garage when he told me that there actually was one “incident”. He told me :

“There was this boy and he was asking me if he could play with the frisbee with us, but it’s not my frisbee so he has to ask K. He kept asking ME so I yelled at him and he said he will tell on me for that.

So I explained to him about my Asperger’s.

I said my brain cannot do just a little exited or angry, it always goes big and loud, I cannot control it! It’s a problem in my brain, it’s my Asperger’s. Then he did not tell on me. It was ok.”

This means A LOT. I told Nemo I was SO PROUD of him. Not only had he actually managed to control himself after getting upset. But he also (am quite aware mostly so not to get into trouble, but still) EXPLAINED, in his words to the child why it happened ! I asked him if he said sorry at all and he said no. Fair enough. Nothing really happened, right. But this still is so BIG!!
(Awesome’s comment to this was also that it would have been a bit wuzzy from the boy to go tell for a yelling, but never mind.. )

One major problem lately has been that Nemo, well aware of his difference, was rejecting the long awaited help in class from the special needs teachers. He also had a few episodes of (minor) physical aggression with kids and was altogether not very receptive to the term Asperger’s. This could also be because one of our friend’s kid (his age) is on the spectrum but is very different and Nemo can’t really handle him as a friend (or only for a limited time). He refused to share the descriptive – “I am NOT like Noel!”

What happened there in school, the explaining of his condition (he told me he did this 2 other times before!)  is a MASSIVE step towards  finding a healthy, accepting attitude to his own condition and I am very VERY thankful he has shown the maturity – at 7 yo – to get there.

This was a very good day and it ended with a very good evening too – he even fell asleep much better than before. One little incident, big consequences.

Leave a Reply

