Bean Boozled–I never liked jelly beans anyway.

images (8)

Do you like Jelly Beans? I don’t.
I mean, not really.

Although I like it sweet, and I kind of like the look of them (especially the freckled ones), I just never really got into it. Didn’t grow up with them either, but they remind me a bit of ‘Zuckereier‘, cheep confiserie the German Mommy Bunny dropped in our nests to add some colour – and pure glucose sugar – to otherwise chocolate made Easter treats. I always found them rather sickening, even as a child. Even more so now.

But I am a bit of a sucker for novelty in the treats department, and the other day, I came across Jelly Belly’s “Bean Boozled” Pack in our local IGA. Mmmmh.. Oh, what the ..?resized_mrJellyBelly_Jump

Check out those wicked  flavours !
Booger, Toothpaste, Rotten Egg .. Vomit ??
(It has to be said, while this sounds a bit like Harry Potter, I don’t know who had the idea)
The colourful packet comes with a twist, you never know if you will get a regular Jelly Belly taste, or one of the fun (?) yucky ones, as you can see on the back “menu” :Packet

Today, I started sampling. Jelly Bean degustation. My verdict ?  Well, I still don’t like Jelly Beans, not even the “Original Gourmet Jelly Bean”. I’m only half through the packet , but so far : the 8 flavours that are part of the regular 50 flavours Jelly Belly produces today, don’t strike me as so much better as, for example, “Toothpaste” (kinda minty, quite ok) or “Black Pepper” (interesting actually). I thought that “Moldy Cheese” is a bit of an insult (read why here) and the other “yucky” tastes, while fun on the packet, didn’t really make me retch enough to make this a full blown sensorial experience.
Oh and by the way, “Baby wipes” tastes not too bad, kind of like Rosewater.
And I’m really not sure if I have come across the infamous “Vomit” beans yet?
(I’m a lousy tester, I know)Tutti-Fruitti

So I did a bit of research, and found that – at least in the US – Jelly Belly also produces “Sports Beans” with Electrolytes, and “Extreme Sport Beans” with Caffeinenow you’re talking! (See the whole range here, including temporary “Rookie” flavours, it’s all very well thought through from a marketing point of view, that’s for sure..)

Obviously, this wide range of flavours has inspired others, on a blog I found this little cartoon :

imagesfailed2djelly2dbellysthumb(I reckon “number 7” is particularly amusing. Open-mouthed smile)

JellyBellyBeans2facts

Although this is a sweet(s) post, let’s not forget that my monthly cause is “Too much Salt?”, and if you go back the Nutrition Information of this 45g snack-sized package (a bit smaller than a regular cigarette packet), you will notice that one serving (understand : the whole pack) while containing 32 g of sugar (obviously) also comes with 34 mg of sodium, representing a around 5-10 % of the recommended daily intake for a 4 to 8 year old child (300-600 mg/day, according to the National Heart Foundation of Australia).
It all adds up! 

“Ah! Bertie Bott’s Every Flavour Beans! I was most unfortunate in my youth to come across a vomit-flavoured one. And since then, I’m afraid I’ve lost my liking for them. But I think I could be safe with a nice toffee… Hum! Alas! Earwax.”
—Albus Dumbledore

Links :
Jelly Belly’s Beanboozled
Oh, and  (just found) a more ‘serious’ test of the Harry Potter Bertie Bott’s Edition

I am dedicating this post to and her little jelly beans.
and it’s mummytime

6 thoughts on “Bean Boozled–I never liked jelly beans anyway.

    1. suburp

      i know those ones. i got them from a pharmacy when i had a lot of nightdriving to do. i have had history of hypoglycemia (like the “Mall Cop”) and it was an alternative to carry around sugar .. but I did not like them much either.
      it’s really odd, because i like most things sweet..

      Reply
    1. suburp

      i think the black ones are about the only ones i kindo of like (although real liquorish is better.. ) .. uh, buttered popcorn! lol, it’s one of the all time favorite tastes since it came out i read on their site..

      Reply
  1. linda

    I have never liked jelly beans that much either but their beautiful colors sometimes intice me to eat them. I sure don’t want any of those disgusting named ones though.

    Reply
    1. suburp

      i agree there is something enticing and very decorative about a bowl full of jelly beans. not that they would stand around long with the OTHER people living in my house lol 😀

      Reply

Leave a comment